top of page
Search

Lost in the Spanish Quarter Review

Lost in the Spanish Quarter by Heddi Goodrich


I had never heard of or seen this book prior to joining bookstagram which is another reason why I adore bookstagram so much--I've added so many books to my TBR that I wouldn't have seen otherwise. I couldn’t be more grateful that I stumbled upon it on @mydarlingbookshelf's page!!


As quite the romance lover, I absolutely adored this book. Not only am I a romance lover, but I also love books (and real life) settings where Romance languages are spoken. While visiting Nicaragua to teach a few years back, I fell in love with the colorful homes made of stucco, friendliness of the Spanish cities I walked through, and the smells of the most amazing foods you could think of. Yes, I know Nicaragua and Italy are different and those who live there speak different languages, but my experience made it that much more enjoyable of a reading experience. I could so easily picture the atmosphere and enjoy the culture that Goodrich highlighted in her writing.



Synopsis: Lost in the Spanish Quarter follows the past romance of Heddi and Pietro while alternating between their past love story and their current life. The book begins with Heddi receiving an email from her first love whom she met in Naples in the Spanish Quarter. Heddi’s love for the history of Naples and traveling helps form a connection with Pietro, but this book shows that sometimes love is not enough.


I was drawn to the story immediately and knew reading this would be a true escapist-reader experience. I was not wrong. I laughed, cried and felt angry at points within the book. This story was heartbreaking and beautiful. Truly relatable. Goodrich made every scene truly imaginable and stunning. I felt like I was there. Her descriptive language of both character feelings and the setting drew me in. I have a thing for powerful or elegant vocabulary in books and this was full of it.


The middle of this book felt a bit sluggish but kept me reading because I knew it HAD to develop more. Goodrich truly delivered the romance I was looking for. Absolutely loved this read and highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates an author setting a scene or pulling you in to the characters lives. A solid 4.5 stars out of 5 from me (that middle bit made the score suffer a tad).



26 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page